top of page

Weaving my way above, around, and through...

Well hello there beautiful people! Long time no post I know! But here I am acclimating to life these past few months. I feel well and find working out consistently helping me even more than I thought it would. I still go to my acting class each week (my savior while I was going through treatment). Inspirations for projects have come to me and I am appreciating even the seemingly small things more and more. Today the temperature was so nice (as opposed to the heat wave) and I welcomed it! I journal each morning while I have my coffee and after I drink my smoothie. It's amazing how centering that can be.

Loving my eyebrows and eyelashes! Even my occasional chin hairs! And of course, there's my head hair. Ah, such a topic these days! It's quite gray, but also dark and white, lots of white. I am grateful it's evenly dispursed so it looks intentional and some of the cool, young kids even said so. It's curly, but I've always had at least wavy hair. And I did have quite a bit of gray before. Hell, these last 2 1/2 years what with Mariah's illness and then my own could be the culprit, bringing me to almost 90% gray. But who cares, it's full, thick, and healthy. And I can dye it and probably will soon! Oooo what color?

So here's the thing: I don't really like talking too much about what I went through. It seems more practical (and frankly just more pleasant, of course) to talk about what I am going to do - the future, the wedding, the travel plans, the projects, and hearing about what you, yourselves are up to. Reaching for the future and being as centered and calm as I can be is what I want to concentrate on. It's essential to survival but honestly, I just want to have fun and be happy. Nothing matters more than that I feel good, as much as I can. They say hitting rock bottom, or having a disease, or something traumatic is what usually brings one to appreciating life more. I agree with this, except with this caveat: not everyone has to or should bring up the difficult times over and over in order to be free of them. It can be quite the opposite. It's not about shame or the fact that I don't want to be pitied (although that is also true). It just seems fitting that in order to go forward, you have to, well, go forward. In short no one should expect a book or solo show about THIS any time soon. ;-) My first solo show (not about this) may make its way to the stage again to actually have a full run!

I was apparently born under "the week of unconvention" according to astrology. Perhaps the way I see things isn't always the popular way. But it's right for me. Many of you may feel that is the way for you too. It's funny, we all think we don't follow the crowd but I tell ya, society has its stronghold more than you think it does. I listened to a really inspiring podcast recently. As into filmmaking as I am, the below interview with Robert Rodriguez inspired me beyond the camera. It was about life, carving your own way and remaining creative. You don't even have to like his movies to appreciate it. It's a great listen - about 2 hours - and he's interviewed by Tim Ferriss (of the 4 Hour Workweek fame). Click here.

Guess that's about all for now but more to come! And videos! More of that to come!

As always, thank you for reading.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • YouTube Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page